5 Reasons I Like Animals More Than People

I have grown up with animals in my life at all times. As a baby, our Siamese cat Cozy slept snuggled up next to me in my crib. At 3, our Collie Heather was my pillow and protector. At 12, I lived on a horse ranch spending countless hours grooming and riding my horses.

As an adult, I have worked as a Veterinary Receptionist and Assistant. I have also owned a pet sitting and dog walking business for 10 years now. I don’t think it’s any secret that animals are one of my main passions in life! I usually like them more than people. Here are 5 reasons why:

1. Animals are loyal to a fault
While humans are very good at proving that loyalty often comes attached with conditions, animals prove that being loyal to their humans can often be detrimental to their own well being. People will abandon other people simply out of convenience, or for their own selfish needs. Animals More often than not will stay loyal to people even through physical abuse or neglect. Animals rarely turn on their human families. I wish I could say the same for some of my human family members!

2. Animals love unconditionally
Animals don’t care if we are poor, fat, ugly, popular, college educated, what color our skin is, if we believe in God or not, are gay or straight, if our house is messy, or even if we are homeless. Animals are not judgmental assholes. That would be people! Animals love us because we love them, plain and simple.

3. Animals are always happy to see us
It never matters how we left things at our last departure, as it often does with people. My cats and dog always greet me as if they haven’t seen me in weeks! Granted sometimes their food dish just needs refilling, but none the less they always at least pretend well that it’s me they are happy to see and not just a human food dispenser!

4. Animals are very emotionally aware
I am not talking about their emotions sillies, I am talking about our emotions! Even when my significant other appears clueless or my kids are too busy bickering to notice, my cats and dog seem to have that controversial sixth sense when it comes to deciphering my complex web of emotions. When I am feeling sad or overwhelmed they are always first on the job to cheer me up!

5. Animals make fantastic therapists
Because animals do not speak in a language that we understand, as well as speak far less than human blowholes they make the best therapists! Sometimes we just need ears to listen, and soft fur to soak up our tears. More often than not, humans feel the need to give us advice and tell us how to live our lives. Animals just listen sympathetically, and lick away our tears. Sometimes they even act as comedians making us laugh away our worries!

So there you have it, 5 reasons I like animals more than people. I’m sure I can come up with several more, but I don’t want to offend any people I know. See, another one right there….it is much harder to offend animals than it is people! Ok, I’ll stop now.

Leave a Reply

