So What?!

I can be selfish. I am Moody. I speak my mind. I talk about politics. I have even been called the “B” word. So what?! I’m a human being. I never claim to be perfect. Far from it. But I’m ME! Why shouldn’t that be good enough? Why should I apologize for being myself? Who is anyone else to judge my character?

Everybody wants others to be nothing but positive and happy all the time. Negativity seems to cramp everyone’s style. To that I say “get off your high horse and welcome to reality!!” If you don’t like negativity then stay away from it. Don’t berate people who are negative. Don’t make fun of them, and don’t blast them on social media!!

The world is made up of so much diversity. That includes personalities. Some people are more inherently negative than they are positive. Does that make them a bad person? Does that make it ok to speak poorly of them? I don’t think so. Maybe that’s because I am often one of those “Negative Nelly’s” that I am referring to.

I have grown up being put down and judged unfairly due to certain facets of my personality. One of those facets being negativity. Because of this hurtful treatment I have always secretly put those of my opposite characteristics (bubbly, glass-half-full, happy-go-lucky types) on a pedestal. I have always felt that there must be something wrong with me since I am often told that my negative attitude needs adjusting. Ever since I was a child. And it wasn’t just school yard bullies that didn’t “approve” of my negativity, but family as well. Negative family at that!! Interesting how easy it is to call the kettle black!

I have been told to “smile” I don’t even know how many times. Each time it hurts just the same. Each time makes me not only not want to smile, but to wipe the smug little smile off the schmuck telling me to do so! Here’s Some great advice from a well known country western legend: “Mind your own business, and you won’t be minding mine!” Yes, even Hank Williams knew better! For anyone to think that they have the right to tell anyone else how to be is beyond arrogant.

Nobody knows what someone might be going through in their personal life. You might tell someone to “smile” who just lost a loved one. You might blast on social media how people need to stop being so negative all the time. Someone like myself might read it and be triggered by memories of being berated during childhood. My point being, we are all so different in so many ways. One way doesn’t have to be better than another. One way doesn’t deserve to be treated in an inferior fashion just because someone doesn’t agree with it. We are all doing our best. If my best isn’t good enough for someone else, so what?!

I totally understand that being around negative people for long periods of time can be exhausting and unpleasant. That is the exact reason negative people tend to have few friends. We aren’t popular. We aren’t social. But we aren’t necessarily hermits either. We aren’t trolls or gremlins. We can eat after midnight (though it does go straight to our thighs!) and we usually don’t bite!

So please stop treating people as if having a bad day, or even a negative attitude isn’t allowed. We never know what others are facing in their lives.

Leave a Reply

